SASASAAS: Member Institutions and Associated Faculty

Member Institutions

At present, the Southern Atlantic States Association for Asian and African Studies has twenty-one members.

Appalachian State University
Campus Representative: Dr. Tu Xiofei (Dept. of Religion and Philosophy)
*Email: tux@appstate.edu
Davidson College
Campus Representative: Prof. Joseph Dennis (Dept. of History) 
*Email: jodennis@davidson.edu
Elon University
          Campus Representative:  Prof. Pamela Winfield
           *Email: pwinfield@elon.edu
Furman University
Campus Representative: Prof. Sam Britt (Dept. of Asian Studies)
*Email: sam.britt@furman.edu
Guilford College
Campus Representative: Prof. Zhihong Chen (Dept. of History)
*Email: chenz@guilford.edu
Hampden-Sydney College
Campus Representative: Prof. Jerry Carney (Dept. of Religous Studies)
*Email: gcarney@hsc.edu
Lenoir-Rhyne College
Campus Representative: Prof. Paul Custer (Dept. of History)
*Email: custerp@LRC.edu
Presbyterian College
Campus Representative: Prof. Roy B. Campbell (Dept. of History)
*Email: rbcamp@presby.edu
St. Andrews Presbyterian University
Campus Representative: Prof. Larry Schulz (Dept. of Politics)
          *Email: les@sapc.edu
Sweet Briar College
Campus Representative: Prof. John Goulde (Dept. of Religion)
           *Email: goulde@sbc.edu
University of Georgia
Campus Representative: Prof. Farley Richmond (Dept. of Drama and Theater)
*Email: richmond@uga.edu
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Campus Representative: Prof. Eric Henry (Dept. of History)
          *Email: ehenry@email.unc.edu
University of North Carolina Charlotte
Campus Representative: Prof. Karen Flint (Dept. of History)
       *Email: kflint@email.uncc.edu
University of North Carolina Greensboro
Campus Representative: Prof. Jamie Anderson (Dept. of History)
         *Email: Jamie_anderson@uncg.edu
University of North Carolina at Pembroke
Campus Representative: Prof. John R. Bowman (Dept. of Sociology and Criminal Justice)
         *Email: john.bowman@uncp.edu
University of North Carolina Wilmington
Campus Representative: Paula Kamenish (Dept. of English)
       *Email: kamenishp@uncw.edu
University of South Carolina Upstate
Campus Representative: Prof. James Brown (Dept. of History)
           *Email: jbrown@uscupstate.edu
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Campus Representative: Prof. Peter Schmitthenner (Dept. of Religion and Culture)
*Email: pschmitt@vt.edu
Wake Forest University
Campus Representative: Prof. Yaohua Shi (Dept. of East Asian Lang. & Culture)
           *Email: shiy@wfu.edu
Warren Wilson College
Campus Representative: Prof. Donping Han (Dept. of History and Politics)
          *Email: Han2000_28815@yahoo.com
Western Carolina University
Campus Representative: Prof. Kevin Lee (Dept. of Communication)
           *Email: Kclee@email.wcu.edu


Return to the SASASAAS Home Page.

Address comments on this page to: Peter Schmitthenner - pschmitt@vt.edu

This document was last updated August 14, 2013.